Game of Thrones 20th Anniversary Edition

Game of Thrones 20th Anniversary Edition

$60.00

By George R. R. Martin

Signed Hardcover

Published in celebration of the twentieth anniversary of George R. R. Martin’s landmark series, this lavishly illustrated special edition of A Game of Thrones—featuring gorgeous full-page artwork as well as black-and-white illustrations in every chapter—revitalizes the fantasy masterpiece that became a cultural phenomenon. And now the mystery, intrigue, romance, and adventure of this magnificent saga come to life as never before.

Availability: Out of stock SKU: 9780553808049 Categories: , Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,
  • Description
  • Additional information

Description

Game of Thrones 20th Anniversary Edition

By George R. R. Martin

Signed Hardcover

A dazzling illustrated edition of the book that started it all—for readers of A Song of Ice and Fire and fans of HBO’s Game of Thrones. Nominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read. Published in celebration of the twentieth anniversary of George R. R. Martin’s landmark series, this lavishly illustrated special edition of A Game of Thrones—featuring gorgeous full-page artwork as well as black-and-white illustrations in every chapter—revitalizes the fantasy masterpiece that became a cultural phenomenon. And now the mystery, intrigue, romance, and adventure of this magnificent saga come to life as never before. A GAME OF THRONES A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE: BOOK ONE With a special foreword by John Hodgman. Long ago, in a time forgotten, a preternatural event threw the seasons out of balance. In a land where summers can last decades and winters a lifetime, trouble is brewing. The cold is returning, and in the frozen wastes to the north of Winterfell, sinister forces are massing beyond the kingdom’s protective Wall. To the south, the king’s powers are failing—his most trusted adviser dead under mysterious circumstances and his enemies emerging from the shadows of the throne. At the center of the conflict lie the Starks of Winterfell, a family as harsh and unyielding as the frozen land they were born to. Now Lord Eddard Stark is reluctantly summoned to serve as the king’s new Hand, an appointment that threatens to sunder not only his family but the kingdom itself. Sweeping from a harsh land of cold to a summertime kingdom of epicurean plenty, A Game of Thrones tells a tale of lords and ladies, soldiers and sorcerers, assassins and bastards, who come together in a time of grim omens. Here an enigmatic band of warriors bear swords of no human metal; a tribe of fierce wildlings carry men off into madness; a cruel young dragon prince barters his sister to win back his throne; a child is lost in the twilight between life and death; and a determined woman undertakes a treacherous journey to protect all she holds dear. Amid plots and counter-plots, tragedy and betrayal, victory and terror, allies and enemies, the fate of the Starks hangs perilously in the balance, as each side endeavors to win that deadliest of conflicts: the game of thrones. Unparalleled in scope and execution, A Game of Thrones is one of those rare reading experiences that catch you up from the opening pages, won’t let you go until the end, and leave you yearning for more.

Additional information

Weight 2.81 lbs

What I’m Watching and Reading

The Great Gatsby F. Scott Fitzgerald
LoTR J.R.R. Tolkien
Watership Down. Richard Adams
The Once and Future King T.H. White
Lord of Light Roger Zelzany
A Wizard of Earthsea Ursula K. LeGuin
The Prince of Tides Pat Conroy
A Tale of Two Cities Charles Dickens
Catch-22 Joseph Heller

Favorite Music - Grateful Dead, Janis Ian

Favorite TV: (short list- he loves TV) Rome, Deadwood, The Expanse, Boardwalk Empire, Big Bang Theory

Favorite Science Fiction & Fantasy Movies: Aliens, The Princess Bride, Blade Runner, LOTR, Dark City, Pan’s Labyrinth, Hell Boy

 

Video Interviews

View our Author Event Series @ Jean Cocteau Cinema

https://youtu.be/S9AxEjlj1Q8?list=PLP-d_0t989GMKNX2jqcuGWFeAX_CO83ZZ

 

Not a Blog George R.R. Martin

  • HBO, GOT Smash Records
    by grrm on July 16, 2019 at 8:55 pm

    The nominations for the Primetime Emmy Awards were announced this morning in Hollywood, and HBO and GAME OF THRONES both set new records.  GOT collected 32 nominations, a new record for the number of nominations for one show in a single year.. and by doing so, extended its previous record for the most nominations ever […]

  • Chicago Gets Low
    by grrm on July 16, 2019 at 1:02 pm

    Hey, Wild Cards fans — did you miss LOW CHICAGO when it came out in hardcover last year? No problem, you’ve got another chance.  Our friends at Tor are releasing LOW CHCAGO today in paperback.   You should be able to snag a copy at your favorite local bookstore (and if they don’t stock Wild Cards, […]

  • FIRE & BLOOD Limited
    by grrm on July 15, 2019 at 8:48 pm

    I love illustrated books.   Hey, no news there for anyone who has been reading this Not A Blog long. Last November Bantam published my book of imaginary history, FIRE & BLOOD, in a lovely trade hardcover edition, lavishly illustrated by Doug Wheatley.   Still on sale all around the world from your favorite local bookstore or […]

Recent Releases

NIGHTFLYERS
(Novella)
May 29, 2018

NIGHTFLYERS and OTHER STORIES
(Anthology)
May 29, 2018

WINDHAVEN
(Graphic Novel)
July 10, 2018

Low Chicago
(WildCards)
July 15, 2018

TEXAS HOLD’EM
(WildCards)
October 16, 2018

 

Mississippi Roll
(WildCards)
December 05, 2017

The Book of Swords
(Anthology)
October 2017

Upcoming Publications

7/16/19  Low Chicago Trade Paperback 
7/30/19  The 2020 A Song of Ice and Fire Calendar
8/13/19  Wild Cards: Knave Over Queens
10/1/19   A Clash of Kings Graphic Novel Vol. 2
11/5/19   20th Anniversary Edition of A Clash of Kings

 

Appearances

To Be Announced and for more info follow on twitter @ https://twitter.com/GRRMspeaking